20 May 2018 / Club News

Club Dinner and Presentation Night

Dolgellau Old Grammarians Annual Awards Ceremony

                    Dolgellau leisure Centre 19.05.2018

Over 120 players, Guests, officials and Club supporters gathered for the Annual awards ceremony at Dolgellau Leisure Centre.

Club Chairman, Peredur Jenkins, opened proceedings and noted that last gathering of this size was back in 1999 when Graham Henry [then Welsh Coach] attend to mark the Club’s 50thAnniversary.

Dilwyn Morgan, was compere for the evening and he had several fond and hilarious recollections of Dolgellau referees, Jo Jones [Llwyn] and Pat Jefferson whilst playing for his side, Bala in the 1980’s, as well as being taught a harsh lesson in front row play by Dolgellau legend, Dei Thompson.

Distinguished guests for the evening were Welsh forwards coach, Robin Mc Bride, and former flanker, Dafydd Jones.  Both had a few wise, choice words about their respective careers, especially the commitment and discipline required to reach the ultimate goal of representing Wales.

Presentations :

Youth XV :  by Coaches Mark Roberts & Emlyn Roberts


Top Try scorers : Jake Hinge

Most Improved : Gwion Lloyd

Best Back ;  Gwion Jones

Best Forward :  Tim Jones

Player Of The Year : Celt Lewis

Players Player : Celt Lewis


 2nd XV : By Managers Robert Williams and Llion Jones

 John Eric Lloyd Memorial [Player’s Award] : Jack Evans and Richard King


Senior 1st XV  :  by Peredur Jenkins and Coach, Cellan Lewis

Clubman of The Year : Emlyn Roberts

John Roberts Memorial Award : Mark Roberts


Most Improved :  Arron Brooks

Aled Evans Memorial Award [for Commitment through season] : Marius Jones

Player Of The Year : Eon Williams

Top Try Scorer : Bryn Jones

Players Player : Eon Williams

Captain Trophy :  Rhys Roberts

There doesn't appear to be any tagged photos.

Upload and Tag Photos

You must be signed in to add comments